Day 96 – In Neutral

Out, damned spot! Out, I say!

Out, damned spot! Out, I say!

Zencast 96 – Forgiveness

A colleague of mine is out for blood this week. So far she’s only got mine on her hands. Luckily I’m blessed with eight pints of the stuff because I reckon I’m going to be bleeding for a while.

This is what happens when people are working in 40° – 50° temperatures and are well over due a vacation. There’s a certain insanity that begins to brew and if you’re not careful you easily become a part of it.

Luckily, because of my mindfulness practice, I’m aware. At the beginning of this podcast I did think that my best course of action after all the events of the day was to write her an email tomorrow (no F2F if I want to keep mine – yikes!) and ask for forgiveness for whatever I have done to deserve the wrath of her anger, which is a symptom of her unhappiness in her personal life rather than a reflection of me. However, Gil advised that if you are still being hurt by the person you wish to forgive, it’s not possible to forgive them. The best thing you can do is slide into neutral.

Fortunately this is what I have been doing with this person for a while so it’s easy to stay in neutral. No effort is needed on my part except the effort I need to acquire in order to cultivate my patience and compassion for this woman.

It’s definitely one of those days when the phrase ‘it’s not easy being human’ is one I have to repeat as my new mantra.

Here’s to hoping that my bloody wounds heal before she stabs her next knife in. One thing I do wish, though, is that women would hate on each other so much. Why are women so cruel to each other? Where’s the love?

Love this woman. Was listening to this yesterday – should have known something was about to blow up! :)

The situation today reminded me of GCSE English and the Scottish play so I thought I would take a trip down memory lane.

Namaste

Comments
3 Responses to “Day 96 – In Neutral”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. [...] The knife that my co-worker previously used against me paled in comparison to the weaponry that she revealed in her arsenal today. To top it off she got another co-worker to face off with me as I sat in the middle of their crossfire in front of the entire office of staff members. I didn’t realize how open and vulnerable I could feel after meditating in the morning when confronted by bullies. There hasn’t been much of a chance to experiment with this possibility thankfully. I just wish I had known to bring my armor to work… [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,040 other followers

