Day 317 – Making It Happen

jobs

Zencast 314 – The Insight Retreat Center

It’s late. Far too late in fact. Way later than I would have chosen to stay up tonight if I wasn’t making it happen…

I’ve applied for about 15 jobs in the last 8 hours. Thankfully most of them were similar so I didn’t have to write too many different cover letters persuading companies why they should pay me lots of money to do what I love – write.

I feel better today. Something has shifted again and I finally chose to sit down and do something about the thing that has been freaking me out the most lately – finding a job. It’s not that it was that hard to do. I just had to sit down and start searching through job listings, adjust my resume to fit the jobs and then hit the send button. It was just the sitting down bit that seemed to be causing me the most trouble.

The problem I seem to have is that once I get started I find it hard to stop, but then if I do stop I find it even harder to start again. That’s why I’m up this late making it happening knowing that if I stop I may not start again anytime soon.

Maybe that’s why I stay up so late – I know that when I do finally close my eyes I’ll find it hard to wake up, and then when I do wake up I’ll be back to going to bed as late as I can (2am anyone?). There’s obviously something in my personality that keeps me clinging to whatever is happening in the moment, even if letting go would be the healthy thing for me to do. No matter how comfortable my bed looks, it takes a lot of persuasion for me to lie down and no matter how much I have to do that day, it takes a lot of persuasion for me to get up out of my comfortable bed.

I guess I could use some of the tips I learned from Gretchen Rubin today about sleeping better: Fourteen Tips For Getting More Sleep — And Why It Matters

If they do as little as make my life a bit easier and happier it would be worth it. So, starting tomorrow I’m setting an alarm on my phone for 10:30pm and making myself a bedtime. I wonder what will happen after that?

May you sleep well!

Namaste

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,039 other followers

