Day 346 – Before I Die

472868_941641017087_39602904_39058738_1428126533_o

Zencast 343 – Simple Compassion

I walked past a building on MLK today that used to be an abandoned club as far as I can remember. Now it’s all boarded up and covered in a blackboard.

I was walking to Wasabi’s to meet a friend for lunch who I haven’t seen in years. On my way past, the board was completely covered in writing and was almost illegible. A few people were standing reading what they could. I took notice, but didn’t pay close attention to what had been written.

However, on my way back downtown after meeting my friend the entire middle section of the blackboard had been erased leaving ‘Before I die I want to ___’ ready and waiting for me to write something.

Another woman stood reading what she could before she approached the board. I took a picture and then did so myself. As you can see from the picture I wrote ‘live, laugh, love’.

There was a split second when I wondered what amazing sentence I should write before that phrase popped into my head. It was cheesy as anything, but it came from my heart.

I thought back over the torment I’ve been feeling these last few days and was happy to note that no matter how hard things get the mantra set deep in my soul now is just that – live, laugh, love.

So, I did. I went out with friends tonight and I laughed. I went out with friends and I lived. I also left that night with a little bit of sadness at the love now lacking in my physical life, but glad in the knowledge that spiritually I’m still loving as best I can from afar.

Tomorrow I get to do more loving as I take care of my brother’s babies overnight for the first time. It won’t be easy, but who said life was supposed to be easy anyway?

That’s why we laugh through all the difficult living and loving. And if life teaches me one thing and one thing only, it will be that laughter cures all. Here’s to 2012 filled with all the living, laughing and loving I can muster.

May your life be filled with all the living, laughing and loving you can muster along the way.

Namaste

Comments
5 Responses to “Day 346 – Before I Die”
  1. Pamela says:

    This is so beautiful!!

  2. Pamela says:

    You are so strong and resilient. Love is going to find you too!! The right one is on its way:) have fun with those babies. You are an awesome sister!!!

  3. I love your mantra ♥. And I love your strength of spirit and determination. Stay strong ♥

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,041 other followers

