Day 353 – Lost in Golf

golf

Zencast 350 – Introduction to Mindfulness Meditation – Week 1

The air whipped around us, birds chirped in the trees, grass rustled along the edges of the green, and my mind slipped in and out of mindful awareness.

It was a wonderful moment of Zen golf. Or was it?

It was great to be out of the house, talking with people and working in the open air. Yet, it’s at times like this when I realize how in my head I get when I’m home alone, writing. This is the biggest issue with me working as a freelance writer. But maybe this is a positive rather than a negative.

If I can get zen walking around a peaceful golf course in a low pace position on a calm and collected job, that doesn’t say much for my practice. Most anyone could do that.

If I’m fidgeting, getting up and sitting down, distracted and struggling to focus in order to complete work because of the places my mind goes when I’m alone with only my fingers and the computer, this seems to be the prime place to work and practice.

It’s at this desk with no one around to soften the edges that I really get a chance to see what’s going on with me and let it play out on the blank pages.

I’d love to get more Set PA positions that put me in the position of working with others on a day-to-day basis outside of my home, but I know that’s also because it’s hard for me to stay at home and face myself, no matter how much I love writing.

I have a feeling I will get the opportunity to work on Set more in the upcoming months and I can’t wait to work those jobs. I just hope that it doesn’t detract from my practice this time, or my writing.

I guess if I simply make the intention now to keep sitting everyday no matter what work comes my way, and to keep writing as much as I can no matter where I am or what I’m doing, then at least I’ll be doing the 1% I need to push my practice and writing forward.

Thankfully, I’ve done that today. Tomorrow it’s back to the golf course (with a secret stash of pens and paper just in case the urge arises).

May you have a peaceful Saturday.

Namaste

—–

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,038 other followers

