Day 365 – The end is the beginning is the end is the beginning is the…

The sunsets over new life that has yet to grow.

The sunsets over new life that has yet to grow.

Zencast 362 – Letting Go: Clinging and Peace

First of all I want to thank you all, my readers, for going on this journey with me. I’ve had my ups and downs, the days when I couldn’t stop myself writing and other days when I wondered what on earth I was going to type here that would be helpful or make any sort of different to anyone.

It’s fitting that today’s podcast is on the topic of letting go, although I think I’ve been letting go of this blog for a little while now. While it feels like the ending of something big, in many ways it is just the beginning, allowing me to move onto other projects that are natural progressions from everything that this blog has taught me.

At the time I started this blog I had no idea I could actually make it to day 365. I had never taken on a project of this length before and in many ways I had no idea what I was talking about in terms of life, practice and Buddhism. However, with the connections this blog has enabled me to make, the books I’ve read, the websites I’ve had the pleasure of following as a result of mine, I’ve learned more about life and living that I ever believed I could.

In fact, the more I learn, the more people I meet, the more life opens up into this magical place that I feel I’m only touching the edge of with much, much more to discover.

I couldn’t’ have done it without you. Without your support, kind words and advice as I walked slowly along this never-ending path. You’ve learned more about me than I’ve probably ever revealed to anyone other than my best friend and family, but I’m happy I could share this part of me with you. I’m happy I could be brave enough to reveal my joy, my heartache, my insecurities, my anger and all the other shades of gray that envelope my life everyday.

If you ever wondered if you could take on such a challenge, I say do it. If you ever wanted to write everyday for a year, I say jump into it. I literally got the idea for this blog one night and started writing it the next day. I didn’t over think it or wonder what on earth I would write. I simply sat down, created the look of my page and then let the words flow (or in some cases wondered how to make them flow).

Nine times out of ten I would start off with nothing and then the words would rise up. Just the simple habit of sitting here day after day pouring ideas out onto the shining page was enough to keep the tap open.

I REALLY couldn’t have done it without the generosity of the Insight Meditation Center who have shared their teachings for free at www.zencast.org. I am forever in debt to my teacher Gil Fronsdal and the guest teachers that also contributed talks. They have taught me so many things about practice and life that have been living inside me for years without a voice. They have enabled me to translate them into daily living. My life has been transformed by these Zencast words and teachings and I don’t know where I’d be without them. I have even less of an idea of where I’d be if I hadn’t started this blog.

I doubt I’d be published on the Under 35 Project, or in the middle of editing a project for Shambala Sun magazine. There’s no way I would have the first third of a YA novel under my belt or that I’d be considering another year-long blog about my commitment to failure.

Thankfully, as this chapter comes to a close, it is definitely not the end for me, this blog, or the things I have left to achieve. In fact, last night I got an email accepting me for a transcription job that will hopefully help me when I move out to LA to follow my dream of screenwriting. As one door closes, another door opens…

While this may be the end of daily blogging at A Year Of Living Wisely, you haven’t heard the end from me yet. And hopefully I won’t have heard the end from you either.

I look forward to having more time to keep up with your writing in the year to come. Please don’t be shy to drop by and let me know what you’re up to in the coming months. I will be visiting every now and again with a story or two to share with you. Otherwise, you can drop me a line at my website, which is still currently under construction, but will be updated radically in the weeks to come.

I guess the only other thing I want to write is:

May you be happy.

May you be safe.

May you be healthy.

May you be peaceful.

Thank you and Namaste

Ange xxx

—–

Comments
12 Responses to “Day 365 – The end is the beginning is the end is the beginning is the…”
  1. Pamela says:

    Yay you did it!! I am so inspired!!! Xoxo

  2. Thank you so much for the work you have put into this project, and the wisdom that you have shared. I have really enjoyed your posts, and I hope to see more from you in the future!

    • Thank you Jason! I appreciate your support and comments. It was a lot of fun and I hope I can continue to provide interesting writing for anyone who wants to read. Good luck with your blog. I look forward to reading it more often now! _/\_

  3. anda says:

    It has been great traveling through this year with you, Angela! I will miss your insights and honesty.

    May you be published (because you are a writer!)
    May you feel peaceful and fulfilled by your work
    May you know that you are love itself

  4. Ange – it’s been such a privlege to read your posts everyday. Although unfortunately I only came to your blog 2 months ago, so towards the end of your journey. It’s been fascinating, thought-provoking and inspiring. And I am going to miss your posts immensely. Take care of yourself, and good luck as you move forward. Love & blessings, Meg

    • Thank you Meg! I’m so glad I could be helpful even if only for 2 months. I have appreciated all your comments and thoughts. It’s been great interacting with you. Thanks for your best wishes. I look forward to continuing to follow your journey now! :)

  5. Great blessings on and for the next chapter of your journey, your writing has been such an inspiration.

    Caine

  6. Lula says:

    Beautiful words Angie, as you said is an amazing journey. How much we learn over experiences, people and the energy they transmit is marvelous. Congratulations on your achievements and let always growth be part of your life.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,039 other followers

